The Idaho Section was established on April 5, 1957, and subsequently renamed the Eastern Idaho Section in 2002.  The Section is co-headquartered in Pocatello, ID, and Idaho Falls, ID, with more than 180 active members in the 16 counties of Eastern Idaho.

Executive Committee

The Section ExCom consists of:

            Chair -- Rae Nims

            Co-Vice Chair & Programs, Pocatello -- Jonathan Jensen

            Co-Vice Chair & Programs, Idaho Falls -- James Smith

            Secretary -- Hope Forsmann

            Treasurer -- Brian Kauffmann

            Past Chair -- Kevin Smith

            Professional Activities (PACE) -- Jake Gentle

            ISU Student Branch Counselor -- Gene Stuffle

            BYU-Idaho Student Branch Counselor -- Ron Jones

            Publicity -- Stony Yakovac

            Awards -- Tim McJunkin

            Webmaster -- Gene Stuffle

            EIEC Liaison -- Gene Stuffle

            Young Professionals Program -- Vivek Agarwal

            Membership Development -- Brett Williams

            Educational Outreach -- Hope Forsmann

ExCom meetings are called by the Section Chair seven times per year, and are conducted in Blackfoot, ID, which is located 25 miles from both Pocatello and Idaho Falls.


Section meetings are conducted about monthly, during lunch or dinner, and are rotated among the cities of Pocatello, Idaho Falls, and Blackfoot.  Many are conducted jointly with other area technical societies and with the Eastern Idaho Engineering Council (EIEC).

During 2014, the Eastern Idaho Section conducted 16 professional, technical or educational meetings.

Section ExCom members regularly attend IEEE Region 6 OpCom and Northeast Area meetings.

Membership Development

The Section recruits new members at Section meetings, and provides forms and information to prospective members.  The Section is continuing a campaign to elevate Members to Senior Members.


During the National Engineers Week program, an Outstanding Engineer is recognized in conjunction with Idaho State University.  The Section also publicizes IEEE area, regional and international awards.

Student Branches

The Eastern Idaho Section is proud to be the parent organization for two student branches:  one at Idaho State University in Pocatello, and the other at Brigham Young University-Idaho in Rexburg.

Professional Activities

We continue to support MathCounts competition through advertisement and providing volunteers. We are also actively involved in the GReater Idaho Falls Chamber of Commerce Young Professionals Network.

Professional Activities have included technical writing workshops focused on technical presentations and resumes, and tours of area sites of interest to members, and regular technical presentations for Section members.

Officer Directory

The Section publishes an annual directory of Officers, Committee Chairs, Region 6 Officers and Student Branch Officers. 

Electrical Engineering Milestone

The Section is proud to have been the nominating and sponsoring entity for establishment of the EBR-1 reactor facility, near Arco, as an IEEE Milestone in Electrical Engineering and Computing.  This is the facility where electricity was first generated by a nuclear reactor.